Lest we forget…. Crocheted Remembrance Poppy

I don’t crochet – it’s a well-known fact. Or rather I do, but not very often and I have to look up the stitches every time and I can’t watch TV at the same time!

To all intents and purposes I am a knitter who occasionally dabbles in crochet.

But for some things, I will always turn to crochet because, well it just works.

Flowers is one of them. You can’t beat crochet for flowers, I don’t think knitted ones look anywhere near as good.

This year, I thought I’d try poppies.

Poppy

Fortunately I picked up a copy of Simply Crochet which had a pattern in it (they have it available free on their website). I changed it slightly as I didn’t have any black yarn so I just did the whole poppy in red and added a button to the centre.

I also added a leaf using this pattern which I just did all in one colour (Note: the instructions for this pattern are written using US terms).

And then all I had to do was add a brooch pin to the back.

Poppy_reverse2

For someone who doesn’t crochet I managed to make 3 in one night! My husband turned one down!!

Now we have something rather more permanent than the paper poppies.

And of course, I can still donate to the Royal British Legion. You can do so via your mobile:

To donate £3 text POPPY to 70020*
*Cost £3 plus standard network charges (typically £2.97 goes to the Poppy Appeal)

I’ve been going through a run of smaller projects lately, and well, it’s really satisfying to finish something in a few hours rather than the weeks and months some of my projects take.

Which do you prefer, large timely projects or the smaller bite-sized variety?

 

4 thoughts on “Lest we forget…. Crocheted Remembrance Poppy

  1. I like the thrill of the finish but I think we have all worked that one out by now!!! Love your poppy, watch out some kindly old pensioner doesn’t stop you in the street to tell you the leaf should be pointing at 11 O’clock (11.11.11 etc. which is what happened to me – It’s true I looked it up so make sure you wear it the right way round. Jo xx

    • I’ve stitched the leaves on!!
      One thing I did discover is that I sewed the brooch pins on the wrong way round so it makes it a bit fiddly to put the poppies on the way I had intended. Will have to think that through a bit more next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

