All cosied up – Beth from Kim Hargreaves

Beth from Kim HargreavesThere seems to be a lot of knitting going on round here. I blame the weather. I’m afraid that when I look outside and it’s dark, damp and dismal all I can think of are cosy cardigans and sumptuous sweaters.

I have been eyeing up ‘Beth’ from Kim Hargreaves Amber – A winter gathering book for quite some time. I always thought it would take ages to knit (double moss stitch, need I say more?) and the 8 balls of Rowan Big Wool are probably enough to put all but the über affluent off.

But then my lovely friend Sharon asked me if I might be able to alter a cardigan for her. It’s one that she had in her maternity days and is clearly now too big.  I took one look at it, and said “err, not really. Your best bet would be to unpick it and start again” and then I found myself with a job!

Double moss stitchThe unpicking was probably the hardest bit – trying to find the ends and then actually undo the seams was laborious and tedious to say the least. I weighed up all the yarn and figured I had a good 800 grams of yarn. My tension square was perfect – so I can say with reasonable confidence that the yarn is Rowan Big Wool as I know that most of the similar yarns knit to ever so slightly different tensions.

I used a tip that I’d picked up and knitted the back and one sleeve first. This takes you to roughly the half way point of the project so if you’re half way through your yarn you should have enough to finish. I didn’t want a repeat of the whole Edie saga!

I was really surprised by how quick it all knitted up. I was expecting it to take ages – yep the big needles, the double moss stitch all make for slow knitting BUT the simple pattern and bulky wool means that it grows almost as quickly as Jack’s beanstalk!

I made the 34in chest version and it fits beautifully on ‘Dolly’ – it’s too big for me, so if I were to knit if for myself I would probably knit the 32in and definitely make it shorter. Now just to finance it…..

The most challenging bit about this make was finding the buttons! It needed 3 large and 2 medium buttons. In the end I managed to find some on Ebay.

And there we have it – a speedy make to keep you nice and cosy over the coming wintery months.

The buttons

3 thoughts on “All cosied up – Beth from Kim Hargreaves

  1. That is a very lucky friend! Unpicking it was a job in and of itself! Looks beautiful tho, and I adore the periwinkle shade 🙂 I share your love of Kim Hargreaves 🙂

Leave a Reply

