Let’s Pyjama Party!!

Pyjamas & so to bedIf you knew how much I love sleeping (I really don’t get as much as I’d like  – that’s children for you), you’d know that when I saw Karen’s invitation to the Pyjama Party I wasn’t going to say no.

We read far too much Winnie the Pooh in our house and I couldn’t resist the ‘bump, bump, bump’ up the stairs moment, although clearly I’m taller than Christopher Robin and there has been a bit of change of direction.

“Here is Edward Bear (later named Winnie-The-Pooh), coming downstairs now, bump, bump, on the back of his head, behind Christopher Robin. It is, as far as he knows, the only way of coming downstairs, but sometimes he feels that there really is another way, if only he could stop bumping a moment and think of it. And then, he feels that perhaps there isn’t. Anyhow, here he is at the bottom, and ready to be introduced to you.” From Winnie-The-Pooh, by A.A. Milne.

So here are the details.

I really love Tasia’s Tofino Lounge pants but budgets being what they are, I knew I had to make do with what I had. I dug out my copy of Amy Butler’s In Stitches which I’ve had for some time and have coveted quite a few of the patterns but haven’t made anything yet and checked out the ‘Wide-legged lounge pants’. Now I knew I didn’t want full length bottoms. I have loads of those already but for summer I needed another pair of shorts.

I added about 10 cms to the bottom of the templates (rather than the whole leg length) and decided to just make them ‘as is’ in size ‘S’. I used french seams throughout as there is nothing I hate more than itchy seams in sleepwear.

The material, a batik print cotton lawn was from my stash and is something my neighbour gave me when she has a clear out a couple of years ago (her husband had brought it back from a trip to India, I think). I have spent quite some time trying to decide what to make with it. It’s only 100cm wide and I had about 2.5 metres and then there is the pattern that would require matching… so I guess you can see why, beautiful as it is, it has lain unused for some time.

I matched the pattern at the hem by cutting from each end of my length of fabric. It wasn’t until I sewed everything together that I realised that the pattern wasn’t exactly the same at either end, so it doesn’t match up further up. Oh well, at least they’re only pyjamas!!

Rather than making a sash/belt I bought some velvet ribbon.

They look huge on the hanger. When I showed my husband he asked me if they’d go small enough! ( and yes he was being serious!) There is a touch more ease in them than necessary but I decided to leave them as they are. No one wants tight fitting PJ bottoms – do they?

Shorty pyjamas in detail

And the top – well I’m sure you can guess that pattern…

…that’s right, it’s none other than Megan Nielsen’s Briar.

I love this pattern. It is wonderful for someone like me who was rather apprehensive of knits and getting along with her overlocker.

I had traced the pattern and made some alterations way back when Megan did the Briar sewalong but just didn’t have the spare time to do anything with it. This was my first time sewing knits and Megan’s pattern.  I redrew the neckline about 2.5 cms higher and changed the length to come to just below my waist (much as I loved cropped tops back in the 80s nothing will convince me post children to bare my midriff – ever).

I decided not to adjust the width and see how it sewed up. In the end, I probably took it in by about 2 inches. I actually think I need to adjust it further and take some out of the centre front and back as I think it comes up a bit too wide at the neckline and on the shoulders.

I opted for the neckbinding option, personally I’d like it to be narrower so I shall try the other neck option next time. I’d also bind the armholes as I think it would look more balanced.

A word on the grain. Getting my fabric straight was a nightmare. In the end I gave up and just cut the pattern pieces out. I dread to think how it’s going to wash!! I used a lightweight jersey from Tissu which is lovely and soft and my overlocker and sewing machine had no complaints whatsoever. Unfortunately the selvedge edges curled, curled and then…. just for good measure curled some more, probably a whole 3-4 cms on each side. Next time, I shall be getting the clothes pegs out and pegging it to my table. Unless of course someone has any other suggestions?

I am looking forwards to wearing these tonight and can’t thank Karen enough for hosting the pyjama party.

I shall be spending the day browsing all the other pyjamas 🙂

20 thoughts on “Let’s Pyjama Party!!

    • I wonder when that’ll happen Jo!! Loved your blouse, and the fabric is beautiful. It had me thinking this morning of what colour combinations I could come up with. Despite the fact that we have pretty similar colouring I look dreadful in green!
      Louise x

  1. Oooh, you were first at the Party!!! And, because of that I’ve found your blog and am now following it! So excited to find now WP sewing bloggers! And, your pjs are just adorable! And, the Briar top is too cute, it makes a great pajama top! I used Colette’s Sorbetto for my pj top. p.s., love your teddy going up the stairs winnie the pooh style. 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I’m a bit attached to my computer, I confess, but I was lucky to be sitting here when Karen’s post popped up! Call it good timing, if you will.
      I’m tempted to make another top out of the same fabric as my bottoms using Colette’s Sorbetto – just for a bit of mix and match 🙂

    • Aww thank you 🙂 All of Megan’s patterns are great. This is the first one I’ve sewn though and well, it does exactly what it says on the packet. Can’t ask for more really can you? Can’t wait to see more of you makes – your site looks fantastic 🙂

  2. That spray starch works for controlling the curling knits. I wouldn’t think you’d want to clip it since that might stretch the knit and pull it out of shape.

    Lovely pjs. The fabric for the bottoms is lovely.

  3. Gorgeous pattern on your pj shorts! I never know what to do with those smaller amounts af fabric I have left over from other projects… may be short pjs are the way forward!

    • Thank you 🙂 It’s always tricky knowing what to do with bits left over isn’t it? Sewing for children helps – you never need much fabric for little ones. But I confess my scraps bag is getting rather full. I think I need to start quilting or something 😉

Leave a Reply

